This entry is not a review as I haven't had any Pho of late but I thought it worthy of mention and I would classify this under the category of "rant".
I was out with my family tonight and a couple came into the Korean restaurant we were at asking for Phó. Or as they pronounced it. "FO". At first I thought they were asking for ingredients to make it as she was describing it as a beef noodle soup to the waitress. I thought this was odd but maybe they saw the raw cuts of meat offered in the Buffett and just did t know where else to go but this couple seemed genuinely disappointed and incredulous that no Phó was offered on the menu and abruptly walked out after thoroughly going through the menu and not finding what they wanted.
I have mixed emotions regarding this particular matter and also my feelings on a whole about Australian culture and perceptions of race and what not and I will try to express some of them now. I am probably almost 100% sure that this couple saw the look of incredulity/horror/disgust on my face as they asked this kind waitress for, as they put it, "FO" but I have to say that I was/am highly offended at their ignorance but at some level I am also impressed that they would ask for my most sacred of meals. I am also saddened that these people would not know the obvious (well it's obvious to me) that Phó is not Korean in origin and that, that is not how you pronounce Phó! Mother Phóckers...
Foods come into popularity I understand and Phó and Vietnamese food in general is having it's time in the spotlight with Luke (not his real name) Nguyen and his SBS cooking shows where you learn nothing and see nothing but him showing off and drawing tenuous links to Vietnamese food and also a myriad of new restaurants and take away chains opening up and exploiting the cuisine of Vietnam with their White friendly names such as Saigon Sally, Miss Chu, Hanoi Hannah and (the pinnacle of offence to myself) Roll'd. With their downright offensive menu name of Uncle Pho and their over inflated prices for their pathetic offerings. Roll'd to me is akin to the La Porchetta or worse yet, Fasta Pasta but with Florentino's prices.
Everyone has a right to make money and it's only as expensive as what you are willing to pay but these places I believe are destroying the heart and soul of a food and culture I grew up on. These restaurants aren't educating people on the cuisine and culture behind the foods they are just trying to make a quick buck. Vietnamese food ten years ago was like FUBU. It was made for the people that understood it and loved it and it didn't make any apologies or any considerations other than an English menu and a waitress/waiter that was kind enough to ask you what number?
I have clear memories of a Vietnamese restaurant opening in Glen Waverley 7 years ago that was run by Chinese and to be a smart arse, I ordered in Vietnamese. I was greeted in response with a blank stare. I can happily say that that restaurant is no longer open but at the time I was under the impression and firm belief that good Vietnamese food is made by Vietnamese people. It was also at the time, unheard of to have a Vietnamese restaurant in Melbourne not run by Vietnamese Australians. This however, is not the case now BUT thankfully with the additions of such places as Roll'd I can safely say that my assertion still holds true. Booyah!
So back to my point as I feel I have digressed somewhat. It's great that Vietnamese food and more importantly Phó is more popular but I am also saddened by this fact as I feel that as a result it will be watered down. I don't see Roll'd offering tripe and tendon in their Uncle Pho so I fear that it has already begun. I don't think that Vietnamese food needs to pander to a foreign palate. The food has done so well for the last 30 years or so without having to adjust or modify the flavours and tastes or even come up with gimmicky names to sell the foods and nor should it. One would only come up with cheesey names if they were selling subpar products at overinflated prices. Also, people should learn to respect the foods they eat and take some time to learn the history of it and where it comes from and more importantly how to pronounce it!
Real (not some gimmicky named moPho) Vietnamese food that we see in Melbourne comes from Vietnamese people such as my parents. People that grew up during a time of war where food was scarce so they made do with what was available and made it delicious with skills and techniques passed down to them. People that had to flee their country not because they wanted to but because they needed to in order to live. The restaurants that were opened were family run and catered for these people such as my parents and their offspring and the food was unadulterated and as close as they could make it to what they knew and remembered from home. It was a nostalgic escape or chance to meet with old friends and it was also cheap as these families knew that their customers were working class and couldn't and or wouldn't pay high prices.
Food is culture and a culture can almost always define itself by the foods it eats and so if we are to live in a multicultural society (Abbot would have it otherwise) in Australia we should embrace the foods and not be scared or ashamed to be proud of all that it has to offer. We shouldn't water it down and try to assimilate it into our society but rather accept it for what it is and enjoy and respect and learn the history behind it and the people that make it...
Sunday, June 15, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Phò years later...
So it's been a while again since my last post. Phò years to be exact. After my last promises of keeping it fresh and what not I neglected it like a red headed Phòster child. In that time Phò has become an increasingly popular meal and my local haunts are now being somewhat gentrified by kids with skinny jeans, beards and denim shirts. I am also now a married man and my wife and I actually had Phò on our first date so it's only fitting I keep this blog going and of course I still have a love of Phò. I think I am in a place now where I will keep this blog going for no other reason than Phò myself. So stay tuned...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)